Top 5 Civil War movies????

 tristanacw.jpg

js.jpg

 

On the left: Disney’s Johnny Shiloh

On the right: My grandson Tristan wearing part of my reenactor’s uniform. Now to get him a drum!

My son Tom recently picked up an old VCR tape of one of my all-time favorite “Wonderful World of Disney” made-for-TV flicks from the 1960s, the classic Johnny Shiloh. We had a delightful evening watching this during a snowstorm a couple of weeks ago. Starring Brian Keith and Kevin Corcoran, this tale of young drummer John Lincoln Clem was to me, as a small boy, an exciting story of the Civil War. When I found out that the real Clem was a native of nearby Newark, Ohio, and my Dad drove me there later to see his statue, I was HOOKED! I became a fan of “Johnny Shiloh” or “The Drummerboy of Chickamauga”. I read everything I could about him from the local library in Zanesville. One of my 54mm plastic Marx Union drummer toy soldiers quickly became my small personification of the character from the Disney movie. He heroically led many a charge in my sandbox under the old apple tree in back of my parents’ home (I still have the figure and most of my aging Marx toys).

Between Johnny Shiloh and Disney’s The Great Locomotive Chase with Fess Parker, I was enthralled by all things Civil War related. My Dad and Mom took my sister and I over to Columbus to view the actual General during its centennial tour, and I was mesmerized. I still treasure the family photos we took of us standing on the General. And then, to top it off, I found out that most of Andrews’ Raiders were also from southern Ohio!!!

Fast forward thirty-odd years, and Gettysburg came out, rekindling my childhood love for the Civil War (and resurrecting my desire to start wargaming again, something that I had essentially dropped after college at Miami of Ohio).  I started collecting and viewing Civil War movies, old and new. 

My favorite still has to be the 1988 Jeff Leighton film, Gettysburg in Miniature, which combined sprawling dioramas with thousands of painted wargaming figures to create a special treatment of the battle. However, since that is not a Hollywood flick, I omitted it from my list.

Here are my five all-time favorite Civil War movies (not necessarily the five all-time BEST, as that’s a different list. Some of these were not well written or acted, but are on the list for nostalgia).

1. Gettysburg – Who can top Buster Kilrain and Kevin Conway’s brilliant interpretation of the character?

2. Glory - Denzel Washington and Morgan Freeman – what more can you say!

3. Johnny Shiloh - The poor librarians of Muskingum County! I searched everywhere for an much information on John Clem as I could find. He became my hero.

4. Wicked Spring - This movie has a classic message on the irony (and futility) of war.

5. The Great Locomotive Chase - Between coonskin caps and this movie, I was a big fan of Fess Parker’s.

 Special mention: Andersonville

How would you rank your top 5 favorite Civil War movies??? Any that you particularly detest or hate, and would not recommend to Charge! readers? Any that particularly stand out as MUST SEE movies?? Please add your comments and opinions.

Categories: Civil War movies | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Civil War movies????

  1. I neglected another early favorite of mine from my childhood – the Red Badge of Courage with WWII hero Audie Murphy in the starring role. The remake with Richard Thomas somehow failed to capture the same emotions in me as the original movie had.

  2. rob hartshorn

    yes, Andersonville deserves a special place on that list since it has been the black sheep among civil War films. also lion heart films makes great independant civil war films which are not widely seen like “Bloody Spring” and “No Retreat from Destiny” which in my view seem to be realistic since they have a lack of a major budget. they have to be more creative in making the battle scenes seem realistic.

  3. Glad you enjoyed it!

    Glad you enjoyed “Wicked Spring”

    Best,

    DJ Perry aka John Sunderland

  4. In 1980, after graduating from college, I moved to a small town in Garrettsville, Ohio.
    Ever since childhood I had a fasination for the US Civil War. In 1985, I formed a civil war reenactment company of the 20th Me. Inf. Co. B of the 5th Corps and was lucky to have participated in the film, “Gettysburg” which was initiated in 1990 and final production by 1993, Joy Todd, Inc. I had a chance to meet Gen. Longstreet (Tom Berringer) and Gen. Armistead (Richard Jordan)

    Gettysburg for this reason has to be my favorite but “Glory and “Dances with Wolves” second in line.

  5. ryan choye

    Gods and Generals is another great U.S. Civil War movie. I woul rate all of the movies listed above with 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

