Some more photos of my old 1960s vintage Civil War toy soldiers

spring09-0351

This photo shows a hodge-podge of different 1960s toy soldiers. The redoubt is from my Marx Civil War playset (the 1963 Centenniel Blue & Gray playset). The figures manning the guns I bought at S.S. Kresge in Zanesville, OH about 1966-68, and I am told they are Crescent figures from England. The soldier blue figures to the right center are Marx 54mm cavalry figures from the Fort Apache playset. The figures at the bottom right are Britains, some of which came from Gettysburg’s Fort Defiance gift shop in 1968. The brownish figures are Marx 54mm figures from their Boonesborough playset, including Daniel Boone. Some of the gray figures at the lower left are more recent figures and were from my kids’ childhood in the 1990s.

spring09-036

Another view of the Marx redoubt and the unknown figures… the ones to the upper left of course are vintage Marx Centennial figures.

spring09-037

These of course are old MPC Ring Hand figures. I have lost most of their equipment since the 1960s, but a couple of accessories can be seen in the photo. The plastic is beginning to get fragile after 40+ years; one of the figures has lost his forearm and ring hand.

spring09-038

Some of the old Marx 54mm plastic figures. Not sure why I painted them as a kid, but perhaps someday I will use some thinner and see how much of the paint I can remove.

spring09-039

Some of the vintage Tim-Mee Civil War figures. The local stores never sold the corresponding Confederate figures. Some of the figures in this shot were made by REL.

For additional photos of these toy soldiers, see my previous post.

Categories: Civil War toys | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Some more photos of my old 1960s vintage Civil War toy soldiers

  1. I wish I knew who made those figures! I remember being in hospital at age 7 (1965) and Mom used visit, each time should would bring me a new soldier to play with. I remember well the officer, the “scout” with the long rifle and the sergeant with the pistol at his hip – he used to have a flag in is other hand I’m sure.

  2. chris brown

    I think the unidentified figures might be Crescent? Are they a bit bigger than the other pieces? I had some of these in the sixties – in fact I might still have the odd one or two sitting around somewhere; if you’d like them I’d gladly send them to you – there’s no point in them sitting round here doing nothing. Thanks again for your advice re cleaning figures.
    Chris.

  3. Sure, I will take them Chris!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

