A Veterans Day thank you!

usflag.jpg

Today is Veterans Day. After church, I drove over to Gettysburg to lead a walking tour of East Cemetery Hill for fifteen wargamers from the Fall In convention that had just concluded. I spoke for about 90 minutes, stopping at various places on East Cemetery Hill to describe the Union defenses and the determined attack by half of Jubal Early’s veteran division on the evening of July 2. We closed at the monument to the 7th West Virginia Infantry, a regiment that contained my grandmother’s uncles and several of their cousins), where I paused with the attendees to remember that it is Veterans Day. What could be more fitting – bright sunshine, crisp autumn air, several good friends, and a chance to reflect at Gettysburg on the sacrifices of our ancestors?

I come from a very long line of U.S soldiers, and I am thankful for each one for their service to our country. My father was a Staff Sergeant in the Eastern Theater in World War II, and served throughout Normandy, Holland, Belgium, Luxembourg, and finally western Germany before finishing the war down in Frankfurt. He died more than two years ago at the age of 91, but I still miss him terribly. His example of Christian love, faithfulness, family values, and patriotism will ring forever in my life. Thanks Dad!

Dad’s uncle Sanford was gassed at Ypres in World War I, but lived to come back to Ohio, although his health was forever impaired. The Chambers boys of Marshall County, West Virginia, my grandma’s uncles, fought at Antietam and Gettysburg. My great-great-great grandfather William Mingus fought under Andrew Jackson at the Battle of New Orleans at the end of the War of 1812. His father, my fourth great-grandfather and a third generation descendant of a German immigrant, was a private in the 1st New York Line Infantry during the American Revolution and fought in several battles in upstate New York.

History has always been important to my family, and I am so very proud on this Veterans Day to pause to reflect on their memory and their service.

And, to all of you Charge readers who are veterans of the armed forces, I humbly salute you and thank you for your devotion and for your courage and sacrifice in giving of yourselves to serve your country. Three cheers to each of you! Huzzah! Huzzah! Huzzah!

What branch of the service were you in? Where were you stationed? Any good memories of the armed forces?

Categories: Civil War sites, Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “A Veterans Day thank you!

  1. Joe Colflesh

    First and foremost a hearty AMEN and HUZZAH to our vets, past and present!

    You know I’m new to your site but I could sense your deep past in the military, and again our similarities are interesting.

    One one side of my family I’ve had four ancestor serve in the “Philadelphia associaters” during the rev war, 10 and counting in the cicil war (4th OH,118th PA,3rd N.J,138th PA,192 PA,and several more unconformed at this point) an uncle who served in the 35th in the ETO during WWII, AN uncle who served in VietNam for a couple of hitches. And last but not least my father who served in WWII,Korea, and Viet Nam.

    On the other side of my family I have a bonified Samurai (I’ve got the clan flag), and a grandfather who served with TOGO at the battle of Port Arthur.

    Anyway, I look forward to conversing with you on this website/BLOG.

  2. Joe,

    Thanks for the post! Indeed I have a strong love for history. My 6th-great-grandfather was in the New York Line during the American Revolution and his son was with Andy Jackson at New Orleans.

    You certainly have an interesting background! There aren’t too many wargamers that can say their ancestors fought under Admiral Togo at Port Arthur! Excellent!

    The 4th Ohio is of particular interest to me as I lived in NE Ohio for many years where the 8th Ohio was raised. They were part of the same brigade as the 4th OVI, as was the 7th West Virginia, where a number of my ancestors on my grandmother’s side fought at Antietam and Gettysburg.

  3. Denice (Mingus) Hinojosa

    I wonder if we are related. My ancestor Hieronimus (Hieronymus) Mingus fought in NY during the American Revolution and moved to Ohio in 1811. His son, Daniel Mingus was killed in battle near Marblehead, OH in the War of 1812. I want to find out if any of my ancestors fought in the Civil War. I’ve yet to discover anything.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

