A few more photos of the new Gettysburg Visitors Center

Background posts: New Gettysburg Visitors Center, Part 2; My first visit to the new Visitors Center; Gilder Lehrman Collection

The National Park Service has planted wildflowers along the main access roads to the impressive new Gettysburg Visitors Center, making a colorul and scenic ride into the always busy VC. I was in town for a book signing at the VC’s book shop (we sold 57 copies!!!), so it was a fun day (other than going home and watching the Ohio State Buckeyes get absolutely trashed by USC – boo! At least my alma mater, Miami of Ohio, won, accomplishing something OSU has historic trouble doing – beating a team from beyond the Midwest) .

Here are a couple more photos I snapped…

The new book store is well organized and laid out, albeit with far too few book titles for my liking. I spent some time admiring the Lincoln caricature figure in the rocking chair (upper right in the picture). My late father would have really, really got a kick out of that. He was a major admirer of the 16th President.

One of my favorite stops in the old Richard Neutra-designed Cyclorama Center was the old 19th century relief map from the Chicago World’s Fair. It provided a useful orientation to the battlefield without spending the money on the Electric Map in the old Visitors Center in the now defunct Rosensteel Building. I remember taking my Dad and my two sons there many years ago before one of the most delightful three-days of battlefield tramping I have ever enjoyed. This old relief map was viewed by countless Civil War veterans during its initial public showing, and now that it is back on display, will be seen by hundreds of thousands of today’s generation. Let’s hope the Park Service keeps it on display permanently.

Categories: Gettysburg | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

