New Civil War movie being released!

johnny.jpg

I grew up in central Ohio in the town of Zanesville, most noted for its unique Y-bridge and as the birthplace of Western author Zane Gray. Not too far away is the city of Newark, Ohio, the birthplace of John Clem (also spelled Klem), one of the 516,000 German-Americans to fight in the American Civil War. Clem, a young drummer boy in an Ohio regiment, gained national fame as “Johnny Shiloh” and “Johnny Chickamauga.” Years after the war, he became the youngest major general in U.S. Army history.In the 1960s, Disney make a somewhat fictionalized movie based loosely on Clem’s Civil War exploits, entitled Johnny Shiloh. Now, a relatively unknown film company, Historical Productions, has produced a new movie on John Clem’s service in the Union army. The movie trailer can be found at the company’s website. Directed by R. David Burns, this movie at least looks better than the classic Disney flick (at least, it has better reenactors and uniforms!).

I have fond memories of the Disney Johnny Shiloh flick from my childhood, although my favorite ACW movies are Glory and Gettysburg. What is your favorite Civil War movie, and why?

Categories: Civil War movies | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “New Civil War movie being released!

  1. My favorite ACW movie is still the John Wayne, William Holden, Constance (whoo! whoo!) Towers epic; “The Horse Soldiers.

    It’s just so doggoned good!

    Mannie

  2. Sreve Basic

    Scott,

    I echo what Mannie posted with amost affirmative Ding Dong, Ding Dong. As for recent CW movies, Ride With The Devil ranks up there as well.

    Hope all is well.

    Regards from the Garden State,

    Steve Basic

  3. Arlo

    York, eh. Have you seen the movie at the Gettysburg theatres? It is not that bad though could’ve been better.

    For historical purposes there really isn’t a good movie. As for entertainment, I’ll go with Glory and Gettysburg. I also enjoyed The Horse Soldiers even though it was a nice stretch. Give me more time to think and I’ll come up with another movie or two.

  4. Jerry is one of the greatest people I have dealt with. Keep up the good work Jerry!! He answers my mail very fast, and his shipping is unbelievable fast. I live in Norway, ans my order was recieved a week after I placed my order!! Gret job! I orderer the Us tent package (the shelter half) and a M5 Assault Gas Mask Bag, they were of the greates quality!! I recomend this guy a lot!!

  5. Brett

    The Hunley was a great movie, I really loved it, and sad to say so but I enjoyed Gods and Generals.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.