These guys are tiny! 10mm ACW gaming

10mm Civil War miniature wargaming figures and terrain from a game held at Rock Con 2008. The rules were A Terrible Discord by Doyle Collins. Photos by Randy Miller of ACME Terrain. For more photos of this scenario, “Richmond or Bust,” please click here.

Have you ever tried 10mm wargaming? It packs more figures, terrain, and excitement into a smaller space, making the scale ideal for kitchen table gaming or smaller venues than 25mm or even 15mm. The scale can readily be used for larger convention games as well.

I gave 10mm a shot a few years ago when I purchased some packs of 10mm Rebellion figures from the good folks at GHQ, who made the Terrain Maker hexes I was finishing and using at the time. I also picked up a bunch of 10mm accessories and houses / buildings and planned to switch from 15mm to 10mm (keep in mind that I had already scaled down from 20mm K+L figures to 15s, so this would have been my second dip into the scale downsizing pool).

At the time, unrelated to all my wargaming activity and painting of hundreds and hundreds of 15mm figures, I began suffering some eye problems (detached retina, cataracts, etc.) that eventually necessitated surgical repairs. (They were hereditary; not to worry, my painter friends.) As a result, I found that my eyes could not focus well enough at close range to paint the tiny little details on the 10mm GHQ pewter figures (which were superbly cast in my opinion, by the way). I kept the 15mm figures, but also kept the 10mm buildings and used them with the slightly larger figures. Doug Kline and other JRGS members I knew had already switched to 10mm structures for 15mm Johnny Reb 3 gaming, so I was not unique. I liked the look, and the footprint of the building was much smaller, enabling more maneuvering in formation.

Have you ever tried 10mm gaming? Any photos of your 10mm Civil War forces in action that you are willing to share with the Charge! readership? If so, send me an e-mail at scottmingus@yahoo.com and I will post them.

Categories: Civil War wargaming | Tags: , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “These guys are tiny! 10mm ACW gaming

  1. Doyle Collins

    Nice picture, I have had these figures for quite I few years now; and are showing ware. The rules are a simple Con system I created to play a very maneuverable, easily understood game for novices. What surprised me was the amount of experienced gamers that enjoy playing it.

    Doyle

  2. Ivor Janci

    Great looking game, Scott and John. Say, Doyle, where can one buy a copy of your rules? Can they be used with 20mm figurines as well?

    Ivor

  3. Doyle Collins

    Sure Ivor they can be bought at acmeterrain.com for $5.00. You will have to contact Randy there I don’t believe they are posted on the site yet; but will be soon. Randy’s a good guy and he will take care you. Remember it’s a simple set don’t expect as much detail as other rule sets. Though it is a good way to get interest started in gaming ACW.

    Oh for 20mm double the numbers for range and movement; as for basing you will have to see what fits the best for your figures. Let me know how it works out…

    Doyle

  4. Ivor Janci

    Thank you, Doyle, for the information. I’d love to see your game in play. Would you put it on at Little Wars in 2009?

    Ivor

  5. Doyle Collins

    I’m in the Chicago area so it may happen. Have to check my schedule. Doyle

  6. Scott Klewicki

    I am new to the 10mm wargaming world, having become a convert from the counter and paper hexmap world. I am looking for different rules systems for 10mm scale ACW gaming. If you ahve any sites I can review or can send to me that would be much appreciated.

    Thanks!

  7. Most major rules sets, including Johnny Reb 3, can be used for 10mm figures

  8. Anonymous

    not the ones im lookin for

  9. Anonymous

    I HAVE ABOUT 2 CORPS ON EACH SIDE AND TONS OF XTRAS, INCL BATTLEFIELD DEBRIS, BUILDINGS, ETC.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.